Support

Following are common questions we get from Cola users. If you have feedback, or do not find the answers to your questions about Cola, please use the form below to let us know.

Using Cola

Who can I text, or chat with on Cola?

Anyone with a mobile number. Currently, it’s US numbers only. See questions about international numbers below. Cola supports SMS messaging, and uses your mobile number as a unique ID. That’s why Cola can still send texts even if the other person does not have the app. Of course, you can send messages to other Cola users. You use their mobile number as well.

Is there a way to know if someone else has Cola installed?
Yes, contacts in Cola will appear in one of the following colors:

  • Blue is a Cola user (their mobile number is registered).
  • Green does not have Cola, but they have been contacted via SMS (regular text messaging).
  • Gray they have not used Cola or have not been contacted by you via Cola over SMS.

What’s the best way to get other people to use Cola?
Keep in mind, other people do not have to have Cola installed on their device to receive messages sent by you from Cola. However, if others want to create and send Cola Bubbles, they do need it installed. If you send a Cola Bubble to someone who does not have it installed, they will receive a link to download it from the App Store. You can always use the Invite Friends feature inside the app. Tap on the profile icon at the top left of the main message list screen.

Whose phone number do people seen when I send Cola messages to non-Cola users?
When you send a Cola message to another Cola users, it comes from your mobile number. However, if you send a message to someone who does not have Cola installed, they receive it from Cola’s phone number – which has a 415 area code. Non-Cola users will receive an initial message with your name letting them know it’s from you. The experience is similar to other text notifications solutions that use their own phone number or short code such as Amazon or FedEx.

Privacy

Why do you need access to my Contacts?
Cola asks permission to access the contacts on your phone to make it easier for you to start sending messages to people you know. This is meant to prevent having to retype names and phone numbers, and having to maintain another set of contacts. As mentioned in the initial set up, we do not upload your contacts to our servers. This feature is specifically designed for convenience. Please review the Cola privacy policy if you have any questions about how your data is used.

When using the Where Are You Now Cola Bubble, why does it say “Cola is using your location”.
Certain apps on the iPhone let users know when they are still running such as the phone, or maps when navigation is active, by displaying a blue or green bar at the top of their screen. This is a common design convention with iOS apps. It lets people know that an ongoing process is running in the background. In the case of the Where Are You Now Cola Bubble, you will see this message for however long your location is provided. Note, there are buttons for 15, 30, and 60 minutes at the top of the compose view. These times represent how long your location and the recipients will be tracked. After that time expires, you location and others will no longer be tracked. When the location tracking time expires, they bar across the top of your screen will go away.

Other Questions About Cola

Can I use Cola with people outside the US?
Currently, Cola is only available in the US App Store. We are working on rolling it out internationally and plan on delivering that functionality in late Spring of 2016. If you would like to get notifications on the status of international support, check out cola.io/international and sign up to get updates.

Is there an Android version of Cola?
Currently, Cola is iOS only. We do plan to ship an Android version. If you would like to get notifications, and possibly get a chance to beta test a version, go to cola.io/android and sign up to get updates.


Submit a Question or Feedback